Lip Critic II by Lip Critic

[LISTENED APR/25/24]

the cover art for the album 'Lip Critic II' by Lip Critic
  • ALBUM
  • YEAR: 2020
  • GENRE: Digital Hardcore
    [Industrial Hip-Hop]

I've actually listened to þis album a couple of years ago! At first I þought it was kind of mid wiþ two really good tracks but, now þat I'm revisitiŋ, þis is actually super good?? It's definitely very Deaþ Grips influenced LOL. I dunno, someþiŋ about it kinda hits different þough! I fuckiŋ love þe vocals in þis! þey perfectly fit þe manic energy of þe lyrics and þe instruments. My favorite soŋ on þis album definitely has to be Blueman, mostly because of þe lyrics; þe lyrics on þis album are Really Good in general but someþiŋ about þe ones on þat track in particular make me so drawn to it. "I see þe blue man crawl out of my freezer" sounds like someþiŋ you would hear from a shitpost but it also conveys þe sheer madness of þe track so well? it's really trippy, I love it.

I also wanna talk about þe Dreamland tracks real quick! Dreamland 1 definitely was my favorite track on þis album when I first listened to it because it was also my favorite track to stim (run around) to! It's still a bopper btw. I really like þe way Dreamland is split up, you can still tell it's kind of þe same track but þe instrumentation in þe second part is also noticeably darker compared to how bright þe synþesizer loop was in þe first part, I þink it's super cool!

I þink þat's all I have to say, album good!!

FAVORITE TRACKS

  • Blueman
  • Dreamland 1
  • Dreamland 2
  • 6 Foot Tongue (When I'm Wiþ You)

Rave Gundam Revolution by psychoangel

[LISTENED APR/19/24]

the cover art for the album 'Rave Gundam Revolution' by Psychoangel
  • ALBUM
  • YEAR: 2024
  • GENRE: Orbcore, Hardcore Breaks

Hardcore Breaks my beloved........ Þis is a lot like a lot of oþer orbcore (Bye2-influenced) stuff out þere but DAMN it's solid. If you're a fan of Bye2 at all, definitely go check þis one out!

FAVORITE TRACKS

  • void//core
  • echo_ruler
  • mematic kill agent

Super Freq EP by Machine Girl

[LISTENED APR/15/24]

the cover art for the 'Super Freq' EP by Machine Girl
  • EP
  • YEAR: 2024
  • GENRE: Hardcore Breaks
    [Acid Breaks, Footwork]

BABE WAKE UP NEW MACHINE GIRL JUST DROPPED! Well, it's been like, 4 days, BUT STILL!!! I was listeniŋ to þis in school þe day it dropped because I literally couldn't wait for it to come out LMAO. Þis EP slaps by þe way, holy shit. I love þe new direction þey're goiŋ in and I'm super excited for where þey're gonna take þeir music.

If you didn't know, Machine Girl has two different styles: þere's þe normal hardcore breaks style which þey started out wiþ in WLFGRL, and þere's þe digital hardcore style which started wiþ BIYAAHEYSF, and only þe digital hardcore stuff had vocals. Þis EP, instrumental-wise, falls into þe first style, BUT, þere's vocals now!!!! I've kind of said þis already but þe vocal tracks are super super good, it kind of makes me wish þere was more vocal stuff in Neon White! Þe closer doesn't have any vocals, but it's still super good as well; I like þe way it progresses in different ways while still buildiŋ on it's main melody!

FAVORITE TRACK

  • Dance in þe Fire

SUFFOCATED XPANSION by Kill Alters

[LISTENED APRIL/09/24]

the cover art for the mixtape 'SUFFOCATED XPANSION' by Kill Alters
  • MIXTAPE
  • YEAR: 2024
  • GENRE: Hardcore Breaks
    [Footwork, Juke]

Okay, þere is no way þis þiŋ is 30 minutes; þis is 10 seconds, actually. For real þough, þis album flies by SO FAST lmao. It kind of reminds me of PMV7 from þe Prolaps project a little wiþ how spontaneous it is! [I fuckiŋ love PMV7 by þe way, þat's one of my favorite albums of all time.]

I kind of wish some of þe tracks here were longer/more fleshed out, but I still have a lot of fun when listeniŋ to þis! Kill Alters always delivers when it comes to atmosphere, and þis is no different! þeir music gives off a specific brand of weird, digital and spiritual or hellish vibes þat can't really be found in any oþer project.

In þe bandcamp description, Bonnie mentions þat some of þe stuff on here is edits of future stuff, which makes me SUPER HYPED. I can't wait for what Kill Alters does next! :D

FAVORITE TRACKS

  • DAYS IM FACIŊ ÞE SUN (NASTYMIX)
  • MALLWORLD
  • WIND TUNNEL CONVERSATION

elseq 1-5 by Autechre

[LISTENED APR/04/24]

oough okay yeah I should not have tried to sit þrough þis entire þiŋ in one go. I kind of zoned out a little and I really Was Not Vibiŋ wiþ elseq 3 but þere is some really excellent stuff in here! foldfree casual (elseq 4) especially is a standout, it feels so robotic yet incredibly emotional at þe same time and I'm always on þe verge of cryiŋ when I hear it???? to me þat track kind of feels like witnessiŋ þe world end but haviŋ þe hope to create a new one and move on. Or someþiŋ lijke þat I don't know if þat scene I illustrated perfectly describes how þis þiŋ make s me FEEL þis track gives me FEELIŊS and I'm BAD AT DESCRIBIŊ usiŋ WORDS. ÞIS TRACK FEELS LIKE I'M A FLOATIŊ PIECE OF DEBRIS IN OUTER SPACE ÞAT KNOWS SOMEWHERE OUTÞERE IT HAS FRIENDS ÞAT'LL SAVE IT..... GODDD. FUCK,. Go listen to it.

Some oþer Good Ass Tracks™ þat I wanna mention are 7þ slip and pendulu hv moda, boþ soŋs have þese really nice grooves to þem þat are super hypnotic and þey always put me in a trancd. c16 deep tread was also fun to brush my teeþ to! I have an electric tooþbrush and þe buzziŋ kinda sounded like it went aloŋ wiþ þe music; þat experience kinda inspires me to start recordiŋ a bunch of random sounds, just in case I start beginniŋ to make music.

FAVORITE TRACKS

  • foldfree casual (elseq 4)
  • pendulu hv moda (elseq 1)
  • 7þ slip (elseq 4)
  • c16 deep tread (elseq 1)

Grave House by Sematary & Ghost Mountain

[LISTENED APR/04/24]

the cover art for the mixtape 'Grave House' by Sematary and Ghost House
  • MIXTAPE
  • YEAR: 2019
  • GENRE: Horrorcore, Cloud Rap, Plugg, Trap

album my friend from school recc'ed :D not exactly my þiŋ but I had fun wiþ it! "woke up þis morniŋ said fuck today" is an incredibly real lyric. New Rocks is þe best track on here because synþesizers go brrrr :)

FAVORITE TRACK

  • New Rocks

Þe Fourþ Bully by /f

[LISTENED MARCH/29/24]

the cover art for the album 'The Fourth Bully' by /f
  • ALBUM
  • YEAR: 2016
  • GENRE: Glitch, IDM
    [Drone, Electroacoustic]

really eerie and kind of ominous but also sometimes really blissful, but also sometimes super anxiety induciŋ and harrowiŋ. I don't know how much I'll be listeniŋ to þis in full but I did enjoy þis one a lot and it was a real treat to listen to ^^ I will certaintly be haviŋ certain tracks on repeat þough; holy shit oil torture is good. I do wanna write up a more in-depþ review of þis album in particular, because I þink it deserves one, but I'll probably do þat once I'm done constructiŋ þe rest of þe music pages.

FAVORITE TRACKS

  • Oil Torture
  • 07.27_ce
  • أنا أحب السماء، التسرب النفطي